Home > About us > Taxi zones

Taxi zones

Applicability of zones

Since 1 July 2018, previously prescribed taxi zones no longer determine the operating areas for commercial passenger vehicles that provide unbooked services (taxis) in terms of where they can pick up or drop off passengers.

Taxis (regardless of their number plate prefix – M, U, R or C) are permitted to pick up passengers anywhere within the State. It is, however, important to note that zones still apply to some requirements for taxis. For example, if you operate in either the metropolitan, or the Urban and Large regional zones, you are required to:

  • install a CPVV approved security camera into your taxi/s; and
  • apply the relevant maximum fares determined by the Essential Services Commission (ESC) for the specific zone you provide unbooked services in.

A copy of the Determination of Taxi Zone Boundaries published in the Victoria Government Gazette on 12 June 2014 can be found here.

Melbourne Metropolitan zone

Covers metropolitan Melbourne, extending to Werribee in the south-west, Caroline Springs, Taylors Hill and Hillside in the west, Melbourne Airport and Bulla in the north-west, Mickleham, Wollert and Mernda in the North, Hurstbridge, Wattleglen, Kangaroo Ground, Coldstream and Lilydale in the northeast, the Basin, Sherbrooke and Belgrave to the east, Rowville, Wheelers Hill, Clayton, Dingley Village, Braeside, Chelsea Heights and Patterson Lakes to the south-east.

Urban and large regional zones

  • Dandenong, Frankston and the Mornington Peninsula
  • Geelong
  • Bendigo
  • Ballarat

Covers the areas of Springvale, Dandenong, Berwick, Cranbourne, Frankston and Mt Eliza), the Mornington Peninsula, (including Mornington, Mount Martha, Dromana, Rosebud, Blairgowrie, Sorrento, Portsea, Tyabb, Hastings, Somers, Point Leo, and Flinders) the previous Geelong Urban taxi zone (extending to Grovedale, Waurn Ponds, Fyansford, Batesford, Lovely Banks, Lara, Avalon Airport and Point Wilson), the previous Ballarat and Bendigo taxi zones.

Regional zone

Covers the areas of the Bellarine Peninsula and Torquay, an area around the fringe of the metropolitan zone that covers Melton and Bacchus Marsh, Sunbury, Gisborne, Riddell's Creek, Romsey, Macedon, Mount Macedon, Woodend, Whittlesea, Wallan, Wandong, Kilmore, Broadford, St Andrews, Yarra Glen, Dixons Creek, Healesville, Launching Place, Warburton, Emerald, Gembrook, Pakenham, Pearcedale, and small blocks surrounding each of the following towns and cities: Mildura, Swan Hill, Echuca, Horsham, Shepparton, Benalla, Wangaratta, Wodonga, Hamilton, Portland, Warrnambool, Colac, Bairnsdale, Sale and Maffra, Warragul and Drouin, and the La Trobe Valley, including Moe, Morwell, Traralgon, and Churchill.

Country zone

Covers all other areas of Victoria not covered by the metropolitan, urban / large regional and regional zones.